Vidarbha beat Punjab by 3 wickets in Cooch Behar Trophy

After conceding a first innings lead of 26 runs, Vidarbha riding on P.R.Rekhade's incisive bowling spell of 7 for 54 reduced Punjab to 165 all out after having an opening stand of 67 runs between Arjun Verma (33) off 82 balls and Shubman Gill (53) off 75 balls. P.R. Rekhade who had Arjun Verma caught and bowled followed it up by having Akul Partap Pandove caught by A. Taide for 6 and struck two more huge blows by having alrounder Abhishek Sharma caught by Y.V.Rathod for 02 and castling Anmolpreet Singh for 01 and trapping Shubman Gill in front of the wicket for 53 and reducing Punjab to 96 for 5 from 67 from no loss. Punjab batsmen could not recover from this and kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. Jaish Jain (4), Resham Sharma (7) Mayank Sidhu (8) fell in quick succession to reduce Punjab to 144 for 8. Thereafter Abhinav Sharma 23 off 23 balls and Mayank Markande unbeaten 12 took the total to 165.

Vidarbha chasing a target of 192 reached the target of 197 for 7 in 42.`1 overs to record an upset 3 wickets win and garner 6 points while Punjab got zero. For Vidarbha A.Taide 38 off 59 balls, D.V. Shahara 20 off 20 balls, G.M Bhoble 30 of 39 balls, P.M.Parnate 22 for 30 balls took the total to 130 for 6 in 32 overs. Thereafter A.V.Wakode used the long handle to clober the Punjab attack in to subjugation by scoring 51 off 31 balls and in company of Y.V.Rathod (19) added (52) runs for the 7th wicket. For Punjab Akul Partap Pandove 2 for 47 and Resham Sharma 2 for 31 were the main wicket takers.